Planning for special D&I days

This calendar of diversity and inclusion days of significance is constantly being updated. We recognise that this is not an exhaustive list of all significant dates and should be considered a guide only. If you would like us to add something to this list, or have a question, please email us at [email protected].  

Please note that these links go to external websites. DCA makes every effort to ensure that the links and content is the most relevant. 

For dates of the many religious observances marked in Australia, as well as national days, we recommend referring to the NSW Department of Education’s Calendar for Cultural Diversity 2022

DCA members who are logged in can click here to view more information below on specific D&I days.

 

January 

Sunday, 23 January 2022  

Midsumma Festival  
(23 Jan – 13 Feb 2022) 

Wednesday, 26 January 2022  

 
 

 February  

Tuesday, 1 February 2022  

Lunar/Chinese New Year  

Friday, 4 February 2022  

Friday, 11 February 2022  

Sunday, 13 February 2022  

Friday, 18 February 2022  

Sunday, 20 February 2022  

Monday, 21 February 2022  

 
 

March 

Tuesday, 1 March 2022  

Saturday, 5 March 2022  

Tuesday, 8 March 2022  

Thursday, 17 March 2022  

Saturday, 19 March 2022  

Monday, 21 March 2022  

International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination  
World Down Syndrome Day  
Harmony Week (21-27 March)

Tuesday, 22 March 2022  

Week of Solidarity with the Peoples Struggling against Racism and Racial Discrimination (22 to 27 March) 

Thursday, 31 March 2022  

 
 

April  

Saturday, 2 April 2022  

Thursday, 7 April 2022  

Monday, 25 April 2022  

Tuesday, 26 April 2022  

Thursday, 28 April 2022  

 
 

May 

Monday, 2 May 2022  

Sunday, 8 May 2022  

Mother’s Day  

Sunday, 15 May 2022  

Tuesday, 17 May 2022  

Thursday, 19 May 2022  

Saturday, 21 May 2022  

Thursday, 26 May 2022  

Friday, 27 May 2022  

Reconciliation Week (ends 3 June)  

 
 

June 

Wednesday, 1 June 2022  

Global Day of Parents  
Pride Month  

Friday, 3 June 2022  

Mabo Day (End of Reconciliation week)  

Monday, 20 June 2022  

 
 

July  

Sunday, 3 July 2022  

NAIDOC week begins (3-10 July) 

Thursday, 14 July 2022  

Friday, 15 July 2022  

 
 

August  

Thursday, 4 August 2022  

Tuesday, 9 August 2022  

Saturday, 13 August 2022  

National Science Week (until 21 August)  

Friday, 26 August 2022  

Wednesday, 31 August 2022

International Day for People of African Descent 
(a good time to also recognise the International Decade for People of African Descent 2015-2024)

 
 

September  

Sunday, 4 September 2022  

Father's Day 
National Child Protection Week. 4th September - 10th September

Saturday, 10 September 2022  

Sunday, 18 September 2022  

Friday, 23 September 2022  

 
 

October   

Saturday, 1 October 2022  

Saturday, 8 October 2022  

International Lesbian Day  

Monday, 10 October 2022

Tuesday, 11 October 2022  

International Day of the Girl
National Coming Out Day  

Sunday, 16 October 2022  

National Carers Week (ends 22 October)

Wednesday, 19 October 2022  

Wednesday, 26 October 2022  

 
 

November  

Tuesday, 8 November 2022  

Intersex Solidarity Day  

Friday, 11 November 2022  

Remembrance Day  

Sunday, 13 November
to Saturday, 19 November

Trans Awareness Week (leading up to TDOR)
Monday, 14 November
to Friday 18 November
Inclusion At Work Week

Wednesday, 16 November 2022  

Saturday, 19 November 2022  

Sunday, 20 November 2022  

Friday, 25 November 2022  

International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women (16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence Campaign)  

 
 

December  

Thursday, 1 December 2022  

Saturday, 3 December 2022  

Saturday, 10 December 2022  

Sunday, 18 December 2022  


 

[1] NSW Department of Education, Calendar for cultural diversity 2022, https://education.nsw.gov.au/teaching-and-learning/curriculum/multicultural-education/culture-and-diversity/calendar-for-cultural-diversity

The rest of this content is restricted to DCA members.